- Point Values
- The bullseye or black ring is worth 5 pts;
- The red ring is worth 3 pts;
- The blue ring is worth 1 pt;
- The green dots in the corner, or Clutch(TM*) are worth 7 pts.
- Players must declare that they are going to throw for Clutch before attempting, also referred to as 'Calling Clutch' or to 'Call Clutch';
- Players can only throw for Clutch on the 5th and final throw of the round;
- An accidental clutch is not valid, even on a 5th throw, no call, no points;
- Once Clutch is called, only that point area is valid and all other point areas are worth zero:
- Meaning that if a player calls for Clutch but hits a bullseye, they receive no points.
- A Clutch call can be taken back after it is called but must be announced to their opponent and scorekeeper:
- If a Clutch call is denounced the target reverts to it's original values and the Clutch is worth zero.
- The Majority Rule
- All scoring is based on where the majority of the blade lands and stays in the target;
- The area to be counted on an axe sunk into a target is the area that is breaking the surface of the target:
- Any part of the blade that is not making contact with the wooden target does not count;
- The amount of blade buried deep into the target passed the surface is also not relevant;
- If they cannot agree, they must call for a measurement from the device; See Image 1.3-A below
- Clutch is an exception to the majority rule;
- When throwing for clutch, as long as any of the axe blade is breaking the green clutch paint, the throw is good:
- Green paint refers to the originally drawn circle that represents the clutch point and not any paint drips or deviations from that circle;
- call for referee if there is a debate, similar to a device* call.
- If the axe sticks in and then falls out of the target, it is worth zero points, even if it sticks in for a moment and slowly falls:
- This includes any axe that falls out before the thrower has approached the target and pulled their axe from it;
- This also includes any axe that must be measured by the device*.
- The device is a set of calipers used to determine the point value of an axe that has landed between two point areas and the point value is unclear: See Image 1.3-B below
- A device can be called by either thrower in the match, a scorekeeper, or a league runner.
- A third party must use the device, competitors cannot use the device to measure for points in their own matches;
- If the thrower being measured removes their axe from the board before the measurment is complete, they receive the lower point value of the values in debate.
- When measuring an axe that has landed between two point areas, always use the outer edge of the paint line (the one farther from the center of the target) as the border for measuring point value; See Image 1.3-C below
- Axes are measured at the face of the target (as if it were not chewed up);
- If the Device is called and the axe falls out of the target before the third party arrives at the target surface with the Device then it is worth zero;
- If the axe falls from the target as the third party is actively measuring the throw (meaning the device is out and at the axe blade) then the thrower receives the lower point value of the two being measured:
- This is because the thrower is responsible for throwing well enough to have a solid stuck axe to be measured, but in case of third party error, if the axe has stuck up until the point of measurement they will receive the lesser value;
- If a device is called and the thrower who is being measured takes the axe out of the target, the thrower being measured gets the lower point value.
Final Axe Call (per round)
In a given round, once both throwers reach their final (5th) axe, they may mutually agree upon, or individually choose, any one of three courses of action for their final throw. This is considered their 'final axe call'
These options may be one of three options; 1. Bullseye, 2. Clutch, or 3. No call at this time (usually made because they want to hear what their opponent wishes to throw first).
These decisions are considered 'locked in' once the throwers have discussed their calls with each other if desired, and made those calls official to the scorekeeper of the match. These calls, once finalized with the scorekeeper, cannot be changed or rescinded.
NOTE: if a competitor throws their axe without conferring with their opponent or scorekeeper AND without calling clutch, that throw is to be considered a regular throw for points by default. Regular throws and 'Bullseye' calls still have the remainder of the board open for scoring with the exception of Clutch.
IF both throwers choose 'No Call,' cannot decide on a course of action, cannot decide their throw order within a round, or both refuse to choose one option before their opponent declares their intent, this will be considered a 'stalemate' and will result in:
A) the point leader of that round being required to make their call and throw first; or,
B) if there is no point leader in that round, the leader in rounds won over the course of the match will be required to throw first,
C) if both players are in a true tie, then both players will be forced to throw for bullseye and Clutches will be considered dead.
- Final Axe Call (Big Axe)
- Similar to the final axe calls, both players must make their intention known to the scorekeeper prior to either competitor throwing an axe.
- The player who's been determined to throw first (through rock, paper scissors, coin flip, etc.) may choose either 1. Bullseye, or 2. Clutch (if they've already scored a bullseye in Big Axe that round, re: the 'Bulling In' rule).
The 2nd thrower may choose either option, to follow suit, OR 3. No call at this time (if they want to wait and see what the 1st thrower scores).
NOTE: the player who's been determined to throw first (through rock, paper scissors, coin flip, etc.) must make their call to the scorekeeper even if their opponent has decided to choose 'No call at this time.'
Again, these decisions are considered 'locked in' once the throwers have discussed their calls with each other, if desired, and made those calls official to the scorekeeper of the match. These calls, once finalized with the scorekeeper together, cannot be changed or rescinded.